“A” is for Annie Oakley #atozchallenge

For the AtoZ challenge, I’ve selected past heroines who have captured our hearts or maybe scared the tarnation out of us. Either way, come have a seat On The Porch Swing and share your thoughts!

“When I started, there was a prejudice to live down.” – Annie Oakley

After the death of her father when only five, Annie Oakley took to trapping small animals to help feed her large family. At seven, she picked up a muzzleloader. The adversities she overcame continued throughout her childhood.

Then, at the age of fifteen, she whooped Frank Butler in a shooting competition by hitting all 25 birds when he missed one. Frank lost more than the match though. He handed over his heart. Annie, however, fell for Frank’s French poodle, George.

In order to capture the girl’s attention, Frank sent Annie letters signed by his four-legged pal. As we all know, it worked. A short time later, although the exact date is debatable, they married.

Do you have a unique or unusual method to courting?  Was it successful?

 

About EmmlyJane

I believe in true love and happily ever afters. eReader. Favorite genre: historical romance.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to “A” is for Annie Oakley #atozchallenge

  1. LWSpotts says:

    I’ve always thought Annie Oakley was an intriguing figure. This is a great idea for the challenge. I enjoyed reading, and will definitely follow along!

  2. I didn’t know that about Annie Oakley. Cool! Neat post!

  3. I had never heard that story, definitely thinking out of the box on Frank’s part.

  4. jdfaver says:

    How neat! I had never heard this story. Like Annie, I could go for a man with a dog.
    *hugs*
    ~JD

  5. Lanise Brown says:

    Ha! The Annie Oakley story is too cute. Thanks for sharing. 😀

  6. Lisa M says:

    Heroines A to Z – great topic for the challenge. I’m excited to read and learn more from your posts. Just followed you on bloglovin so I can keep up! By the way – I adore the word “courting” – it always makes me smile.

    • EmmlyJane says:

      Thanks for stopping by Lisa. Your comment reminded me of my friend who is unable to say certain everyday words without letting out a little giggle. I’ll have to ask her if she has a reaction to “courting”.

  7. Haha, love the taxes comment above mine!

    No unusual courtship story here really. Met my husband at church when I was a teenager. 🙂

    –stopping by from a-z challenge

  8. A. Catherine Noon says:

    What a fun topic idea. I think courting is a lot of fun and we make it a lot harder than it has to be. A cowboy of my acquaintance asked his now-wife to marry him one day when they did the taxes. “Hon, it says here that if you are married, you pay less taxes.” “Yup.” “I don’t want to pay more taxes.” “Nope.” “Well okay then.” “Yup.” C’est fini. 🙂

Comments...

