“Y” is for Yelling

ImageIf you want your kids to listen to you, don’t yell at them. Whisper. Make them lean in. My kids taught me that. And I do it with adults now. — Mario Batali

I do not claim to be a good mother. I always say “I am trying my best.” However, having receiving similar advice to the quote above has helped me over the years. 

Admittingly, it is still a takes an effort. When my children are not listening, my initial instinct is to state my request louder until they comply.  But when I lower my voice, it is amazing how quickly their ears listen up.

I’ve never tried this with an adult but today is as good a day as any for that experiment.  What fun!

Have a wonderful day everyone.

~~Emmly Jane 

About EmmlyJane

I believe in true love and happily ever afters. eReader. Favorite genre: historical romance.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to “Y” is for Yelling

  1. This technique works especially well with my autistic son. The change in volume grabs his attention amid all the other sensory distractions. It usually makes him giggle, too.

  2. Jessica says:

    This is very interesting. I think I’ve read it before. I’m going to have to try it out, if I can remember. 🙂

  3. Ingrid Engen says:

    It’s very true that “a gentle word turns away wrath,” and whispering in response to a yell is a great way to put that into practice. A calm response automatically diffuses the situation. Great advice.

  4. Andy says:

    Hi Emmly Jane, just saying bye for now. I’m sure you’ll get Z done and complete the challenge. Thanks for stopping by from time to time and good luck. Maybe see you next year on the challenge. Andy

  5. It’s still a work in progress for me. I hate yelling. But I realized it’s a habit — so now it’s one I’m working to break. Funny, though, it seems that now that I’m aware of the yelling, I’m doing it more. Some days I ground myself and hide in my room. I detest the yeller in me.

  6. Mario’s right – it works very well with adults. It can also drive them bonkers. As situations escalate, I scale back in response. When I don’t get as crazy as they’re getting (which, by the way, doesn’t help in the least), other adults either get pissed off, or dial down themselves.

Comments...

