“H” is for Happiness

I am determined to be cheerful and happy in whatever situation I may find myself. For I have learned that the greater part of our misery or unhappiness is determined not by our circumstance but by our disposition. — Martha Washington

Yes, there will be times of sorrow in everyone’s life. However, how you handle the situation is an active choice which only you can decide.

~~ Emmly Jane (short & sweet today because I almost forgot to post.  EEKS!)

For more A to Z Challenge posts Click here

About EmmlyJane

I believe in true love and happily ever afters. eReader. Favorite genre: historical romance.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “H” is for Happiness

  1. Wayne Stratz says:

    Yes indeed, often it is I who decides if a student is ruining or making my day. Stratoz goes AtoZ

  2. This reminds me of the saying that pain in life is inevitable but suffering is not. The hardest part is being compassionate with myself, even when I’m kicking up a lot of suffering in my responses.

  3. Andy says:

    Yes, ‘Happiness is a choice’ seems a bit of a cliche. But it’s true – it doesn’t get given to you, you have to work at it.

  4. It took me awhile to come to that conclusion. I’m glad that it came early and not later.

  5. You know, I have the misguided notion that when a deeper-than-the-norm thought – like, you are what you think – hits the mainstream, it’s a mind-blowing new invention. And yet here is Martha Washington, a good 230 or 240 years ago, basically saying that very thing. I like that.

Comments...

