“G” is for Goals

If you want to reach a goal, you must “see the reaching” in your own mind before you actually arrive at your goal. — Zig Ziglar

a-to-z-letters-gHave you heard the tale of the POW pilot who spent years in solitary confinement in Vietnam? While the enemy locked his body in a small cage, he still controlled his mind.

To summarize:  Before deployment, he had been a weekend golfer. While captive, he kept his mind sharp by visually walking through playing 18 holes of golf every day. When released, his golf game had improved drastically.  http://www.snopes.com/sports/golf/innergolf.asp

Whether the story is true or a mere legend, in addition to their rigid training programs, many athletes use visualization as a method to help reach their goals. Visualization allows you believe in yourself and keeps your goal in sight.

Take a minute or two, pick a goal (long or short term), close your eyes, and picture what it will be like when you reach the wonderful event.  What do you see? What are the sounds / smells? And most importantly, who emotion do you feel?

~~Emmly Jane

For more A to Z Challenge posts Click here

About EmmlyJane

I believe in true love and happily ever afters. eReader. Favorite genre: historical romance.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to “G” is for Goals

  1. Bren says:

    Love that story!!! I strongly believe in the power of visualization with regards to goals. It’s so important and something not many people remember to do. There’s so much “mind over matter” about the entire thing.

  2. Donna says:

    I believe visualization is an important part of any change a person makes. In order to make a change, you have to believe you can make it and in order to believe it you have to see it. Great post. Zig Ziglar was a luncheon speaker at a corporate retreat I attended about 20 years ago, I had forgotten about that. He told the story about the POW pilot.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog today.
    Donna at Donna’s New Day

  3. Oh, I like the visualization technique. I’m going to try it.

  4. auntyamo says:

    Never heard that before. What a story.
    I hope it’s true!

    auntyamo
    http://ficticiousamo.wordpress.com/

  5. Sara says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I wonder how many other “Goals” posts there were today? I definitely use visualization in so much of what I do as a writer. If I can’t “see” it, I can’t work on it. Hope you get that walk in!

  6. Daniel B. says:

    I’ve heard the Vietnam story before, but it’s a great reminder that visualization can be great tool for moving us forward.

    Great post!

  7. I’ve heard MANY people, sites, magazines, etc recommend visualizing your goals. It’s a pretty cool tactic! Just hard to remember for some reason.

    Take care!
    Dee

  8. mshatch says:

    I do this a lot but it’s only worked for me once so far and that was when I visualized myself buying my house. Hmm, maybe I’m not doing it right anymore…

  9. Thanks for the tip. I will give it a try.

  10. This technique is an important part of the law of attraction, too. I use visualization a lot, especially when I’m doing something new. 🙂

  11. Pat says:

    A quote that my sister once told me “You have to see it to believe it!” Great inspiration here!

    And, BTW, I was going to write that I was tempted to push the pretty ranger off the mule, but I didn’t want to scare off any newbies to my blog! 😉 hahahahahahahahaha!

Comments...

