“F” is for Friendship

“Lots of people want to ride with you in the limo, but what you want is someone who will take the bus with you when the limo breaks down.” — Oprah Winfrey

a-to-z-letters-fToday is dedicated to my childhood friend, Kara. We met in kindergarten, and our friendship has withstood the test of time.

Even before high school graduation, our interests differed. We never hung out in the same social group. Our life stages (marriage, kids, career) moved on different timelines.  Several months drift by between our phone conversations, and now that I think about it, she has never physically been in my current house nor I in her current home (we live in different parts of the country).

With all the apparent separation, she is my “drop of the hat” friend. I could call and say “I need you.” Her first response would not be “what’s wrong”. Rather, the words I’d hear:  “I’m on my way.”

~~Emmly Jane (who has just decided to make plans for a long weekend to visit her friend!)

For more A to Z Challenge posts Click here

About EmmlyJane

I believe in true love and happily ever afters. eReader. Favorite genre: historical romance.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to “F” is for Friendship

  1. Wayne Stratz says:

    Splendid celebration! Stratoz goes AtoZ

  2. MM Pollard says:

    Great quote by Oprah. If I had a chance to redo some things, I would stay in closer touch with people who mattered to me as I was growing up. MM

  3. Happy to see friends stay together for so long! There is nothing better!

  4. auntyamo says:

    Well all need someone like that in our life.
    I wonder who Oprah would go on the bus with 🙂

    auntyamo
    http://ficticiousamo.wordpress.com/

  5. christine says:

    Great quote from Oprah. My best friend and I always talked about friends who have “fridge privileges”. How many people would you feel comfortable just opening their/your fridge and grabbing something out of it. Those are your real friends.
    Hope you get to have that weekend with your friend.

    • EmmlyJane says:

      Fridge benefits! That is GREAT. I have a neighbor who took care of my cat while I was on vacation one year. When we got home, she confessed… “I happened to notice you had some eggo’s. I hope you don’t mind I borrowed one.” She is still a dear friend. I’m not sure I would raid her fridge in reverse, but I honestly didn’t mind either!

  6. Friends like this are rare and a true blessing. Enjoy your trip to visit your friend.

  7. Friends like that are priceless. Hope you had a wonderful weekend. 🙂

  8. Donna S says:

    Great post, very heartwarming.

    Donna at Donna’s New Day

  9. And isn’t that the true definition of a friend 🙂

  10. becsym says:

    Fab post I enjoyed that very much. Good luck with the rest of the A to Z !

Comments...

